por carracuca

Because my biggest secret of all—the one I would rather die than tell, the one I wouldn’t even put in my diary—is that I really, truly, in my heart, want to be beautiful. I want to be beautiful so much—because it will keep me safe, and keep me lucky, and it’s too exhausting not to be.

And standing here, looking at myself, in cold horror, in the monitor, I can see what a million people are going to immediately notice: that I am not. I am not beautifull at all.

Porque el mayor de mis secretos, el secreto que jamás revelaría, aunque eso significara mi muerte, el que ni siquiera escribiría en mi diario, es que en realidad, en el fondo, lo que quiero es ser guapa. Lo deseo muchísimo, porque eso me protegerá, y me dará suerte, y porque no serlo resulta agotador.

Y aquí plantada, mirándome, horrorizada, en el monitor, veo lo que inmediatamente verán un millón de personas: que no lo soy. Que no soy nada guapa.

Caitlin Moran (ENGES)

